The “not-so-expert” learns a bit about Growth Hormone – When to NOT eat sugar

If you all didn’t know I am living the dream of my twenties in my thirties. I by no means consider my twenties a waste of time – but I do consider them an extended journey that only one with a young soul like myself need to venture to deem worthwhile. Seriously – If I could even begin to describe to you the experiences had in my second decade we might need to create a blog all on it’s own to even begin to dive into the random shenanigans that those exciting years were lucky enough to experience. Ha. Ha.  Not to say I’m proud of the various roads that I traveled, but I am certainly not “un-proud” of them because dammit, they were not easy and if it were not for experiencing all of those good and bad times I would not be where I am today. I would never in a million years wish to live another life than the one that I live right now. My journey led me to here and right here is just where I need to be.

On that note…..let’s talk about what I learned in school today. As a 31 year old in here 3rd year of community college I learn random things every day. This week’s random light bulb moment is brought to you by the amazing bodies ability to metabolize and grow according to balances in the endocrine system.

I hear that Growth Hormone is stimulated in 1 of 4 ways:

1.) when you are a very young soldier growing at an incredibly fast rate

2.) when you have just completed strenuous exercise

3.) when your blood sugar is low

4.) within the first 2 hours of sleep – during stage 4 when your body is in “repair-mode”

I also have heard that one of the major Inhibiting  factors for Growth Hormone is – HAVING YOUR BLOOD SUGAR TOO HIGH!!

Why is GH inhibited when blood sugar is high? For the plain and simple reason that the reason for Growth Hormone to not be activated in instances where it should be is because your blood sugar tells it that it doesn’t need to be!!!

Why is this important?

Well, think of the reasons for Growth Hormone being activated in the first place. Hmmm….Growth Hormone repairs tissue when broken down or needs to be rebuilt. Growth Hormone burns fat. Growth Hormone uses amino acids to build precious muscle in cases when it needs repairing. Growth hormone is the reason all of those bodily functions that result in weight loss, stronger body composition and reproduction of young, healthy cells that we desire most as we age are able to occur.

Again, why is it important to be aware of the nutrients we put into our bodies at certain times? Well, Growth Hormone is inhibited by elevated glucose levels in the blood. That means if your blood sugar is too high, Growth Hormone will not be around to do it’s job.

Eating sugars before bed? Forget Growth Hormone showing up to repair those damaged/old/dead/broken down from exercise and/or growing tissues during your sleep. Growth Hormone will not be released to do its job if your blood sugar is high before bed. Remember – it is only in the first couple hours of sleep when this important repair job is scheduled for it’s daily tune-up…

While it might seem like a good idea to get that sugar fix in after a strenuous workout because glycogen stores have been depleted, think again – that could possibly be the only time Growth Hormone is available to repair those precious muscle fibers to grow faster and become stronger…

While I have not thoroughly researched every facet of this lecture to the point of bare bones I do not take it lightly. We work hard for our muscle – ladies especially. I felt absolutely compelled to share this information learned in class, taught by someone much more knowledgeable than my self with all of you because it is important to be mindful of what we put in our bodies and when. If turning 30 taught me nothing besides responsibility – it has opened my eyes to the fact that maintaining good health is not something that comes easy. A healthy mind and body has got to be earned and without knowledge of how our system works, achieving ultimate health will not come easily.

Ask questions. Research. Practice methods that you feel might work for YOU. Persevere. Never give up. Eat mindfully. Sweat nearly every day. Take responsibility for your life and your health. And finally, share what you learn with others. Living a fit and healthy lifestyle is not easy – sharing what you learn with those around you not only encourages others to be their best selves but it encourages you to reach beyond your capacity to respect yourself in the best way you can. Love your life. Be patient. Be persistent. Never give up!

About eatlovefit

Fitness enthusiast obsessed with body movement and nutrition. I am majoring in exercise science and currently working to obtain a certification as a personal trainer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

